Connect with us


Eight District 9 Players Named All-State in Class 2A/4A by PA Football News

CENTRE HALL, Pa. – Eight District 9 football players were to the 2019 Pennsylvania Football News (PFN) Coaches Select Class 2A and Class 4A All-State teams Friday.

(Photo of Clarion’s Austin Newcomb. Photo by Jared Bakaysa of JB Graphics. See more of Bakaysa’s work here)

Class 2A Team • Class 4A TeamClass 6A Team 

Clarion’s Austin Newcomb, a Clarion-Limestone student playing in a co-op with the Bobcats, and Clearfield’s Quentin Bloom were first-team choices at Class 2A slotback/H-Back and Class 4A offensive guard, while the other six were second-team choices.

The Class 2A second-team selections included Ridgway’s Robert Briggs at middle/inside linebacker, Brookville’s Kyle MacBeth at cornerback, Karns City’s Kaden Scherer at kick/punt returner, and Brookville’s Nathan Taylor at punter.

Clockwise from top left: Austin Newcomb of Clarion (photo by Jared Bakaysa), Quentin Bloom of Clearfield (submitted photo), Kyle MacBeth of Brookville (photo by Kyle Yates), Robert Briggs of Ridgway (photo by Jared Bakaysa).

In Class 4A, the second-team choices were DuBois’ Chase Husted at tight end and Clearfield’s Jake Lezzer at cornerback.

Bloom’s selection to the PFN Coaches Select Team gave the Bison a pair of All-State honors this season, as he was also selected to the PA Sports Writers Class 4A team.

Clockwise from top left: Jake Lezzer of Clearfield (photo by Logan Cramer III), Kaden Scherer of Karns City (photo by Jared Bakaysa), Chase Husted of DuBois (photo by Kelly Malek) and Nathan Taylor of Brookville (photo by Jared Bakaysa)

A Class 6A team was also named, but District 9 doesn’t have any Class 6A squads

District 9 had four players earn Class 1A and Class 3A honors Thursday, while a Cranberry athlete playing for Oil City was also named to the Class 5A team Thursday.

The PFN Coaches Select teams were nominated and voted on by the coaches. Coaches were asked to nominate and vote on their team’s classification. Some stuck to that while several others nominated and voted in other classes as well. In all, 246 coaches participated.


Jared Bakaysa Kyle YatesKelly Malek 

More in Football