Connect with us


Brookville Crowns Five Champs While Rolling to District 9 Title

HYDE, Pa. (D9Sports) — Brookville’s domination of District 9 wrestling continued Saturday in the Class 2A Championships at Clearfield Area High School.

The Raiders crowned five individual champions and had five other place winners to easily roll to the title with 215.5 team points.

Brookville also saw another Raider be named the Outstanding Wrestler as senior Caleb Hetrick received the honor while claiming his second district title and running his record to 30-5.

Head coach Dave Klepfer was named the Coach of the Year.

Brookville’s champions included Kai Sorbin at 126 pounds, Hetrick at 145, Xavier Molnar at 195 pounds, Tyler Cook at 220 and Colby Whitehill at 285.

For Molnar, he won four matches, all by pin, to improve to 30-7. The title was Molnar’s third district crown.

Cook picked up his second D-9 title when he beat Clarion’s Tom Wurster, 7-1.

At 285 pounds, sophomore Colby Whitehill pinned his way to the finals where he beat Curwensville senior Steve McClure, 6-2, in overtime.

The Raiders had five others qualify for regionals. They included Cabe Park, second at 120, Dontae Constable, second at 138, Cole LaBenne, fourth at 160, Braden MacBeth, fourth at 170, and Elliot Park, third at 182.

The Brockway Rovers had three champions and a total of five regional qualifiers as they finished second with 124 points.

Sophomore 120-pounder Anthony Glasl won his second straight D-9 title and improved to 31-3.

The Rovers also had a pleasant surprise at 170 pounds as sophomore Eric Johnson stood atop the medal stand for the first time. Johnson was 24-10 entering the weekend and was seeded third.

But he knocked off the No. 1 seed and defending champion Isaac Wright, of Coudersport, 8-2, to claim the crown.

At 182 pounds, the Rovers won again as junior Garrett McClintick beat Coudersport’s Elijah Ayers, 5-2.

Brockway’s other regional qualifiers included Tino Inzana, who placed fourth at 138, and Hayden Thompson, who placed third at 285.

The Ridgway Elkers had two champs and a total of five regional qualifiers.

Senior Bryce Barclay won his second D9 title at 132 pounds. Senior Lukas McClain followed with another title at 138 pounds to improve to 30-4.

Logen McClain placed third at 145 pounds, Kyle Bush was third at 120, and Damon Kelley, third at 170.

Port Allegany had one champion as Jake Kallenborn won his second D9 title to improve to 33-1.

The Gators also had four others qualify for regionals in Isaiah Caden, fourth at 106, Reese Vollmer, second at 113, Issac Smoker, fourth at 145, and Justin Young, fourth at 182.

Kane had one champion with Alec English at 152 pounds. The Wolves also had three other place winners, including Noah Blankenship, third at 132, Aiden Hulings, third at 160 and Ty Stahli, fourth at 195.

Curwensville had a champion in 113-pounder Blake Passarelli and two other regional qualifiers in Zach Holland (132-fourth) and Steve McClure (285-second).

Smethport had one champ – Bryent Johnson at 106 pounds and another place winner in Braedon Johnson, third at 126.

Here’s a listing – by team – of each school’s regional qualifiers:

Johnsonburg: Cole Norlin, second at 106, Dalton Stahli, fourth at 126, and Jake Zimmerman, fourth at 152.

Redbank Valley: Trenten Rupp, third at 106, Mason Songer, fourth at 113, Brayden Altobelli, fourth at 120, Hunter Martz, second at 126, Logan Minich, second at 195, and Aiden Gardner, fourth at 220.

Coudersport: David Kudrick, third at 138, Julian Smith, second at 160, Isaac Wright, second at 170, and Elijah Ayers, second at 182.

Bradford: Tyler Thompson, second at 132, Dillon Keane, second at 145, Colby Keane, second at 152, and Nate Gehm, third at 220.

Clarion: Ryley McMasters, third at 152 and Tom Wurster, second at 220.

Keystone: Tyler VanTassel, third at 195.

Oswayo Valley: Dylan Pesock, third at 112.

Cameron County: Nate Palumbo, fourth at 285.

The regional qualifiers will compete March 2-3 at Sharon High School.

In Class AAA, DuBois won the team title with 149 points, slipping past runner-up Selinsgrove, who finished with 146.

The Beavers crowned four champs and had six other place winners.

Kolby Ho was named the outstanding wrestler and head coach Luke Bundy was named the Coach of the Year.

The Beavers four champs included Chandler Ho (106), Ed Scott at 126, Dalton Woodrow at 132, and Kolby Ho at 145.

DuBois’ 10 place winners will compete in the Class AAA Northwest Regional tournament at Altoona Area High School March 2-3.

Clearfield had two champs. They included Matt Ryan at 120 and Luke McGonigal at 195. McGonigal improved to 29-0. The Bison have eight headed to regionals.

St. Marys had one champ, Zach Becker at 170, and a total of nine place winners.

The Punxsy Chucks also had a champion, Alex Neal at 285. The Chucks have two headed to regionals.