Connect with us


Brookville Leads Way With Nine in Semifinals of District 9 Wrestling Championships

HYDE, Pa. — The District 9 Class 2A Wrestling Championships kicked off Friday at Clearfield Area High School and the Brookville Raiders lead the way with nine grapplers in Saturday morning’s semifinals.

The Brockway Rovers and Johnsonburg Rams put six each into the semifinals. The Redbank Valley Bulldogs and Kane Wolves have five each.

Ridgway, Coudersport and Bradford have four each in the semifinals.

Port Allegany has three in the semis while Clarion and Curwensville each have two.

Keystone, Cranberry, Smethport, Oswayo Valley and Sheffield have one each.

Here’s a listing – by team – of each school’s semifinalists with their weight class in parentheses:

Brookville: Cayden Walter (106), Cabe Park (120), Kai Sorbin (126), Dontae Constable (138), Caleb Hetrick (145), Braden MacBeth (170), Xavier Molnar (195), Tyler Cook (220) and Colby Whitehill (285)

Brockway: Dom Inzana (112), Anthony Glasl (119), Tino Inzana (138), Eric Johnson (170), Garrett McClintick (182) and Hunter Thompson (285).

Johnsonburg: Cole Norlin (106), Nolan Shaffer (120), Dalton Stahli (126), Cole Casolio (145), Jake Zimmerman (152) and Tyler Watts (170)

Redbank Valley: Trenten Rupp (106), Hunter Martz (126), Ethan Wiant (132), Logan Minich (195) and Aiden Gardner (220).

Kane: Noah Blankenship (132), Alec English (152), Aiden Hulings (160), Teddy Race (182) and Ty Stahli (195)

Ridgway: Kyle Bush (120), Bryce Barclay (132), Lukas McClain (138) and Logen McClain (145).

Coudersport: David Kudrick (138), Julian Smith (160), Isaac Wright (170) and Elijah Ayers (182).

Bradford: Tyler Thompson (132), Dillon Keane (145), Colby Keane (152) and Nate Gehm (220).

Port Allegany: Reese Vollmer (112), Eli Petruzzi (126) and Jake Kallenborn (160)

Clarion: Ryley McMasters (152) and Tom Wurster (220)

Curwensville: Blake Passarelli (112) and Steve McClure (285)

Keystone: Tyler VanTassel (195)

Cranberry: Jesse York (182)

Smethport: Bryent Johnson (106)

Oswayo Valley: Dylan Pesock (112)

Sheffield: Nick Knowles (285)

The semifinals begin at 10:30 a.m. Saturday with wrestling on two mats and the round 3 consolations on one mat.

The consolation semifinals will follow before a break.

At 3:30 p.m., the 2018 Hall of Fame class will be inducted and the Parade of Champions will follow.

The finals and consolation finals will begin at 4 p.m. The top four wrestlers in each weight class will advance to the Northwest Regional tournament at Sharon High School March 2-3.