Connect with us

Breaking News

D9 Cross Country: Champs crowned at Ridgway

Photo by Kara Campbell Raeshler

Complete Results

RIDGWAY — Clarion’s Liam Raehsler and Bradford’s Logan Caruso claimed Class A and AA boys’ titles while Elk County Catholic’s Victoria Dippold and Clearfield’s Paige Mikesell won Class A and AA girls’ titles at Saturday’s District 9 Cross Country Championships held at Grandinetti Elementary School.

Raehsler, a senior, won Clarion’s first individual district title since 1987 when he won Class A in 17:00.20, 14 seconds ahead of runner-up Isaac Wilson of North Clarion. Team-wise, Cranberry edged Elk County Catholic, 71-74, as the Berries overcame ECC putting three runners in the top eight and won their first D9 team title.

In Class AA boys, the freshman Caruso beat a Punxsutawney trio to the line in 17:27.3 for a 19-second win over runner-up and defending champion Bo Dinger of the Chucks, who easily won the team title, 28-64 over the Owls.

In Class A girls, Dippold breezed to a 36-second win over runner-up Rachel Guyer of Ridgway. North Clarion, however, ended Elk County Catholic’s team title run of at least 10 straight years by outpointing the Lady Crusaders, 64-80. Cranberry wasn’t far behind at 85 points.

In Class AA girls, the freshman Mikesell beat Bradford’s Riley Crissman to the line by nine seconds in 20:22. The Lady Owls held off St. Marys for the team title, 45-50.

The top two team finishers in Class A advance to states while the top 10 runners not connected with those teams also won berths to the PIAA Championships in Hershey Saturday, Nov. 1.  In Class AA, the top team finishers advance and the top five non-team qualifiers.

In Class A boys, the non-team state qualifers are (with overall finish listed): 1. Liam Raehsler, Clarion; 2. Isaac Wilson, North Clarion; 3. Devan Cavanaugh, Coudersport; 4. Drew Bille (ECC, team qualifier); 5. Logan Hoffman (ECC, team qualifier); 7. Tim Adams, Northern Potter; 8. Matthew Dippold (ECC, team qualifier); 9. Eli Trimbur Coudersport; 10. Blayde Conley (Northern Potter); 11. Brandon Brabham, Oswayo Valley; 12. Isaiah, North Clarion; 13. Gabe Trimbur, Coudersport; 14. Kyle Bryan (Cranberry, team qualifier); 15. Adam Bettwy, Clarion.
In Class A girls, the non-team state qualifiers are (with overall finish listed):  1. Victoria Dippold (ECC, team qualifier); 2. Rachel Guyer, Ridgway; 3. Kayce Bobnar (North Clarion, team qualifier); 4. Maggie Schwabenbauer (North Clarion, team qualifier); 5. Kristin Reynolds, Cranberry; 6. Katie Kelly, Coudersport; 7. Keighley Kirby, C-L; 8. Abbie Schmader (North Clarion, team qualifier); 9. Emma Ford, Northern Potter; 10. Liz Tanner, Smethport; 11. Kiersten Slater, Smethport; 12. Samantha Hall, Moniteau; 13. Alexis Adams, Northern Potter; 14. Tifany Berry, Cranberry.

In Class AA boys, the non-team state qualifers are (with overall finish listed): 1. Logan Caruso, Bradford; 2. Bo Dinger (Punxsutawney, team qualifer); 3. Eric Ingros (Punxsutawney, team qualifier); 4. Seth Burkett (Punxsutawney, team qualifier); 5. Ryan Thrush, Brookville; 6. Alex Coval, Clearfield; 7. Austin Frey, St. Marys; 8. Kage Clark (Punxsutawney, team qualifier); 9. Josiah McClarren, Clearfield.

In Class AA girls, the non-team state qualifiers are (with overall finish listed): 1. Paige Mikesell, Clearfield; 2. Riley Crissman (Bradford, team qualifier); 3. Mikaila Banka (Bradford, team qualifier); 4. Amanda Foster, St. Marys; 5. Michelle Bauer, St. Marys; 6. Shelby Schreiber, St. Marys; 7. Ala Small, Punxsutawney.