Connect with us

Breaking News

District 9 Sets Locations for 2017-2020 D9 Boys’ and Girls’ Golf Championships

RIDGWAY, Pa. – The District 9 committee set locations for 2017 through 2020 District 9 boys’ and girls’ golf championships at its meeting Wednesday.

(See full meeting minutes)

The 2017 boys’ championship will be held at Pennhills Club in Bradford Sept. 25 and Sept. 30, while the 2017 girls’ championship will be at Coudersport Golf Course Oct. 2.

In 2017, the boys’ championship will be held at Pinecrest Country Club in Brookville Sept. 24 and Sept. 29 with the girls’ being held at Bavarian Hills Golf Course in St. Marys.

The 2019 boys’ championship is going to be at Punxsutawney Country Club Sept. 23 and Sept. 28 with the girls’ championship at Pinecrest Sept. 30.

By 2020, the boys’ championship will be held at Bavarian Hills with the girls’ going to Punxsutawney Country Club. Dates for those championships are to be determined.


The committee voted to not grant athletic eligibility to an unnamed student transferring from Kane Area High School to Elk County High School in any sport said student participated in during the last 12 months.

Tim Walter (Bradford) made the motion which was seconded by Bill Howard (Oswayo Valley). The motion carried with one abstention from Aaron Straub (Elk County Catholic).


At the annual principals meeting that followed the committee meeting, three new members were elected to the District 9 committee including Moniteau athletic director John Stoughton, St. Marys athletic director Terry Straub and Coudersport’s athletic director John Sherry.

Sherry replaces Bob Tonkin as the Junior High/Middle School representative. Tonkin will stay involved with the committee as he was earlier this year approved as the Secretary/Treasurer and will most likely remain as the football chairman as well.

Stoughton and Straub replace Bill Vasallo (Punxsutawney) and Brock Benson (Johnsonburg), who elected not to run for re-election.

In addition to the new members, committee members who were re-elected include Randy Cathcart (Clarion), Mike Erickson (DuBois), Pete Grecco (Brockway), Howard (Oswayo Valley), Jim Manners (Brockway), Dave Osborne (Brookville), Matt Splain (Otto-Eldred), Aaron Straub (Elk County Catholic) and Walter (Bradford).

Erickson, Grecco, Howard, Straub and Osborne are the athletic directors at their respective schools. Splain is the superintendent at Otto-Eldred while Cathcart, Manners and Walter maintain positions within their respective schools.

At the reorganization meeting that followed Manners was elected to continue as chairman of the district with Straub was elected to continue as vice-chairman. Also, Scott Daum was appointed to serve as the District 9 School Boards Association representative.


Prior to the new committee being elected, the current committee:

  • Was told Runner High will be FAT timing system for the 2017 District 9 Cross Country meet.
  • Was informed that there will be sub-regional boys’ volleyball matches between District 6 and District 9. District 8 (Pittsburgh City League) will not enter a team in the tournament.

Advertisement Enter ad code here