Connect with us

Breaking News

ECC and Bradford Win District 9 Boys’ Cross Country Titles

RIDGWAY, Pa. – Elk County Catholic and Bradford won District 9 boys’ cross country titles Saturday at Ridgway with ECC taking home the Class 1A title and Bradford the Class 2A championship.

Class 1A Results • Class 2A Results

ECC beat Clarion, which also qualified for the PIAA championships, 27-68 with Smethport finishing third with 69 points.

Bradford took home a close three-way 2A race with 34 points ahead of 44 points from Punxsutawney and 49 points from Clearfield.

Ben Hoffman won the 1A individual championship in a time of 16:46 topping Darion Gregory of Smethport by four seconds.

Logan Caruso won the 2A individual title in a time of 17:07 ahead of second-place finisher Owen Bartlebaugh of Punxsutawney (17:35).

Hoffman was joined on the ECC title team by Isaac Wortman, Logan Hoffman, Jacob Carnovale, Sam Wolfe and Drew Daghir.

Clarion’s second-place PIAA qualifying group was led by Nathaniel Lerch, who finished ninth in a time of 17:45 followed by Noah Schill, Nick Schill, Ketner Daniel, Frank Weber, Donnie Cunningham and Jacob Smith.

Joining Caruso on Bradford’s champion team were Tyler Kraft, Vinnie Bizzarro, Gabe Mitchell, Isaac Paterniti, Cade Hayden and Andrew Kraft.

In addition to the ECC and Clarion runners and Gregory, also qualifying for the PIAA Championships in 1A were Smethport’s Christian Tanner and Jordan Pavlock, Ridgway’s Nicolas Heredero, Brookville’s Ethan Brentham, Cranberry’s Daniel Fisher, Coudersport’s Tristan Amell, Oswayo Valley’s Jacob Karr, Keystone’s Dawson Steele and Clarion-Limestone’s Andrew Forrest.

In addition to the Bradford runners and Bartlebaugh, the 2A PIAA qualifiers were Punxsutawney’s Corbin Heitzenrater and Clearfield’s Harrison McMillen, Isaac Swanson and Jeremiah Vezza.

Advertisement Enter ad code here