Connect with us

Cross Country & Golf

ECC; Punxsutawney Win D9 Boys’ XC Team Titles; Tanner, Jamarillo Win Individual Titles

RIDGWAY, Pa. – Elk County Catholic and Punxsutawney took home District 9 boys’ cross country teams titles, while Smethport’s Christian Tanner and DuBois’ McKellen Jamarillo won individual titles Saturday at Ridgway.

(Photo: Punxsutawney Class 2A Championship XC Team)

Class 1A Results • Class 2A Results

ECC took home its fourth consecutive champions in Class 1A with a score of 54 just two points ahead of second-place finisher Cranberry. Both of those teams advance to the PIAA Championships.

Punxsutawney won the Class 2A title with 29 points well ahead of second-place Bradford, who scored 62 points in the five-team race. The Chucks are the lone D9 Class 2A team to move onto the PIAA Championships.

Tanner took home the Class 1A individual title in a time of 17:59 ahead of teammate and second-place finisher Darion Gregory (18:15).

Jamarillo won the Class 2A individual title in a time of 19:16. He was 10 seconds ahead of second-place finisher Corbin Heitzenrater of Punxsutawney.

Rounding of the Top 10 in Class 1A were Clarion’s Nathaniel Lerch (3rd; 18:19), ECC’s Ben Hoffman (4th; 18:21), Jacob Carnovale (6th; 18:32), Isaac Wortman (8th; 18:35) and Joe Wolfe (10th; 19:03), Cranberry’s Matt Woolcock (5th; 18:25) and Daniel Fisher (7th; 18:34) and Brookville’s Ethan Brentham (9th; 18:53).

Those 10 as well as the remainder of the ECC and Cranberry squads and Brookville’s Bryce Baughman (11th; 19:06), Smethport’s Jordan Pavlock (12th; 19:19), Keystone’s Conrad Lloyd (15th; 19:32), Clarion’s Noah Schill (16th; 19:37) and Nick Schill (18th; 19:47) and Kane’s Hayden Barr (19th; 19:50) qualify for the PIAA Championships in Class 1A.

The additional members of the ECC team were Alex Miller (26th; 20:20), Tom Dippold (49th; 21:36) and Luke Jansen (77th; 24:07) with the additional Cranberry team members being Christian Miller (13th; 19:30), Logan Johnson (14th; 19:31), Hunter O’Neil (17th; 19:42), River Perry (23rdl 20:03) and Joey Fox (34th; 20:38).

The entire Punxsutawney team qualified for the PIAA Class 2A Championship and also included Aiden McLaughlin (4th; 19:33), Ethan May (5th; 19:33), Owen Bartlebaugh (7th; 19:53), Levin Ingros (11th; 20:33), Eric Surkala (12th; 20:35) and Samuel Rodgers (21st; 21:13).

Joining those runners and Jamarillo in heading to the Class 2A PIAA Championship are Clearfield’s Isaac Swanson (3rd; 19:31) and Jeremiah Vezza (8th; 19:55) and Bradford’s Ryan Cottillion (6th; 19:45) and Tyler Kraft (9th; 20:14).

2018 D9 1A Cross Country Champion Elk County Catholic