Connect with us

Breaking News

Kane wins AML Title


Tyler Rolick ran for 123 yards for Kane Friday night – Photo by Shawn Murray

KANE, Pa. – Shane Rolick ran for 142 yards and two touchdowns on 19 carries to lead Kane to its second AML Title in three years with a 21-0 win over visiting Port Allegany Friday night.

“We did what we needed to do to get this win,” Rolick told the Advanced Disposal Friday Night Overtime Show on

Shane Rolick, who scored on a 7-yard run in the second quarter and on a 28-yard third-quarter scamper, was also 1-for-7 passing for seven yards and picked off a pass on defense. He was joined on offense by his twin brother, Tyler, who ran for 123 yards on 30 carries.

“It’s a lot of fun to be doing this with Tyler,” Shane Rolick said. “It’s pretty much about getting the W.”

Erik DeLong added 59 yards rushing including the game’s first touchdown on a 13-yard run midway through the first quarter.  

In all, Kane’s offense racked up 334 yards of offense including 327 on the ground.

But the real story was the Wolves’ defense, which limited Port Allegany to 65 total yards including negative 11 rushing.

“Coach Silfies is the one who got us there,” Shane Rolick said. “He always teaches us bend but don’t break, and that’s what we rolled with.”


Photo by Paul Burdick

Tre Garzel accounted for most of the offense going 11 of 32 passing for 76 yards with an interception.

The two teams will rematch in the opening round of the District 9 Class A playoffs next week in Kane with the Wolves, the defending champions, looking for a third victory this year over the Gators.

“We are just going to play each game one by one and see what happens,” Shane Rolick said. “They definitely got better from the first time we played them. I think it definitely gives us an advantage (playing them again next week) because we can go back and see what we did wrong and see what we can change and make the changes from there.”

NOTES – It was the 30th AML Title game and the fifth time the Wolves have won the title, the second most all time behind Smethport’s seven titles. All five of Kane’s championships have come since 2002. Port Allegany had been looking for its fifth title and its third since 2011.


Score by Quarters

Port Allegany 0 0 0 0 – 0

Kane 7 7 7 0 – 21

Scoring Summary

First Quarter

K – Erik DeLong 13 run (Tyler Rolick kick), 5:18

Second Quarter

K – Shane Rolick 7 run (T. Rolick kick), 8:49

Third Quarter

K – S. Rolick 28 run (T. Rolick kick), 2:41



First Downs 7 18

Rushes-Yards 16-(-11) 60-327

Passing Yards 76 7

Comp-Att-Int 11-33-1 1-7-0

Total Yards 65 334

Penalties-Yards 0-0 7-34

Fumbles-Lost 0-0 1-1

Punts-Avg. 8-28.6 5-23.8


Rushing – Port Allegany: Mac Tanner 5-6, Jordan Seefeldt 2-2, Dylan Baumgarner 3-2, Josiah Ramadhan 2-negative 6, Tre Garzel 3-negative 14. Kane: Shane Rolick 19-142, Tyler Rolick 30-123, Erik DeLong 9-59, Ange Costanzo 2-3.

Passing – Port Allegany: Tre Garzel 11-for-32, 76 yards, 1 interception. Dylan Baumgarner 0-for-1. Kane: Shane Rolick 1-for-7, 7 yards.

Receiving – Port Allegany: Dylan Baumgarner 5-53, Jordan Seefeldt 3-20, Mac Tanner 2-5, Josiah Ramadhan 1-negative 2. Kane: Tyler Weidenhoff 1-7.

Interceptions – Kane: Shane Rolick.