Connect with us


Port Allegany Wrestlers win Five of 10 Contested Weight Classes at AMWL Championships

BRADFORD, Pa. (EYT/D9) — The Allegheny Mountain Wrestling League (AMWL) Championships were contested Saturday at Bradford High School with Port Allegany leading the way with titlists in five of the 10 weight classes contested.

(Pictured above, Carson Neely, right, wrestles at the PIAA Championships last season/photo by Molly Zimmerman)

Winning AMWL championships for the Gators were Ian Fitzsimmons at 114 pounds, Ian O’Shea at 121 pounds, Alden Furgeson at 145 pounds, Aiden Bliss at 172 pounds, and Carson Neely at 285 pounds.

To win his title, Neely wrestled Gator teammate Gavyn McKervey, pinning him in the first period (schools could enter multiple wrestlers at each weight class).

In addition to McKervey, Port Allegany had four other grapplers earn runner-up spots, as well as quartet in third.

Sheffield was the only other team to have multiple champions, the Wolverines with three – Hayden Holden at 127 pounds, Chase Kyler at 133 pounds, and Christian Evans at 139 pounds.

The Wolverines had two other placers, both taking third.

Bradford and Coudersport each put one on the top step of the podium – Owls 160-pounder Jodan Thompson and Falcons 215-pounder Gavyn Ayers.

The Owls had one runner-up and two in third, while the Falcons had one in second.

Also participating were Oswayo Valley, Cameron County, and Kane.

Oswayo Valley put two in the finals, with Cameron County and Kane each having one finalist. Both Cameron County and Kane also had a wrestler place third.

For results of the placement bouts see below.

Championship Round
114 – Ian Fitzsimmons (Port Allegany) pinned Ryan Galloway (Bradford), 5:56
121 – Ian O’Shea (Port Allegany) dec. Andrew Coriaty (Oswayo Valley), 10-6
127 – Hayden Holden (Sheffield) dec. Isaac Postlewait (Port Allegany), 5-0
133 – Chase Kyler (Sheffield) pinned Colton Ferguson (Port Allegany), 3:32
139 – Christian Evens (Sheffield) dec. Kelvin Burgess (Port Allegany), 3-2
145 – Alden Furgeson (Port Allegany) major dec. Owen Deutschlander, 11-1
160 – Jordan Thompson (Bradford) dec. Reece Bechakas (Kane), 4-3
172 – Aiden Bliss (Port Allegany) pinned John Wright (Coudersport), 3:48
215 – Gavyn Ayers (Coudersport) pinned Boe Kirkman (Port Allegany), 0:41
285 – Carson Neely (Port Allegany) pinned Gavyn McKervey, 1:27

114 – Bradley Stilson (Port Allegany) pinned Juliette Morales (Sheffield), 1:58
121 – Kolton Miller (Bradford) won by disqualification
127 – Michael Snyder (Cameron County) dec. Mitchell Brinsky (Bradford), 7-2
133 – Bryden Letendre (Sheffield) pinned Mason Avenali (Kane), 4:30
139 – Carter (Sheffield) tech. fall Austin Campbell (Kane), 17-2 (2:52)
145 – Zach Hungivile (Port Allegany) dec. Alex Marfink (Sheffield), 4-0
160 – Mason Gordon (Port Allegany) dec. Peyton Stiles (Port Allegany), 7-1
172 – Sawyer Smith (Port Allegany) pinned Jacob Aldrich (Oswayo Valley), 5:44
215 – Ben Walter (Kane) pinned Trenton Mead (Sheffield), 5:23
285 – Lucas Risser pinned Blake Callahan Bradford, 1:40