Connect with us


Seven District 9 Football Players Named All-State in Class 2A and Class 4A

HARRISBURG, Pa. – Seven District 9 football players in Class 4A and Class 2A football players were named to the Pennsylvania Football Writers/Broadcasters 2017 All-State football teams.

(Photo: John Eakin. Photo by Tessa Boschert. Check out more of Boschert’s work here)

In Class 4A, Clearfield quarterback Isaac Rumery, Bradford running back John Eakin and DuBois wide receiver Kyle Hopson were all named All-State.

In Class 2A, Kane quarterback Reed Williams, Brookville wide receiver Bryan Dworek, Clarion linebacker Zak Bauer and Clarion defensive back Spencer Miller were named All-State.

Rumery was the third-leading passer in District 9 throwing for 2,643 yards and 33 touchdowns while going 152 of 246 with 12 interceptions. Rumery added 359 yards rushing and eight touchdowns.

Eakin was the fourth-leading rusher in District 9 with 1,518 yards and 23 touchdowns on 160 carries. He added seven catches for 135 yards and a touchdown.

Hopson was the fourth-leading receiver in District 9 with 61 catches for 922 yards and eight touchdowns.

Williams finished fifth in District 9 in passing with 2,120 yards and 26 touchdowns while going 139 of 263 with 26 touchdowns and eight interceptions. He added four rushing touchdowns.

Dworek was the leading receiver in District 9 and the Eric Shick Agency/ District 9 Offensive Player of the Year. He had 85 catches for 1,406 yards and 21 touchdowns.

Bauer, the Eric Shick Agency/ District 9 Defensive Player of the Year, averaged 10.2 tackles per game with 41 tackles for a loss, eight sacks and two interceptions for a Bobcats defense that allowed 12.7 points per game while recording a pair of shutouts and allowing single-digit points six times.

Miller, the Eric Shick Agency/ Jim Kelly Award Winner as the D9 MVP, also made 10.2 tackles per game with a sack, a team-leading five interceptions and 13 passes defended.

View the full Class 4A teamView the full Class 2A team here

NOTE – The Class 1A and 3A teams will be announced Tuesday.