Connect with us

Breaking News

Twenty District Grapplers Alive For Northwest Titles

SHARON, Pa. — District 9’s Class AA wrestlers had a solid opening Friday at the Northwest Regional Tournament at Sharon High School.

Twenty D-9 wrestlers made the semifinals and still have hopes of winning a regional title Saturday.

The Brookville Raiders led the district with seven grapplers in the semifinals.

The Ridgway Elkers saw four reach the semifinals.

The Clarion Bobcats, bit hard by the injury bug before districts, had just three at regionals, but two are still alive in the semis.

The Curwensville Golden Tide also have a pair of wrestlers in the semifinals.

Five schools, Brockway, Coudersport, Bradford, Kane and Port Allegany, each have one wrestler in the semifinals.

Saturday’s wrestling schedule includes the Round 1 consolations at 9 a.m., followed by the semifinals and consolation quarterfinals.

After a short break, the consolation semifinals will take place.

The doors open at 2:30 p.m. with the third- and fourth-place consolation matches at 3:30 p.m.

The Parade of Champions will begin at 5:15 p.m. with the finals following immediately.

The top four wrestlers in each weight class advance to the PIAA Championships, which begin Thursday at Hershey’s Giant Center.

Here’s a weight-by-weight look at how District 9 wrestlers fared Friday.

In the 106-pound weight class, Brockway’s Anthony Glasl scored a technical fall over North East’s Caiden Eastman to reach the semifinals against Fort LeBoeuf’s Steven McGarvie.

McGarvie pinned Oswayo Valley’s Dylan Pesock.

Port Allegany’s Reese Vollmer dropped a 3-2 decision to Union City’s William Burgess.

At 113, Brookville’s Keelan Kunselman pinned Corry’s Logan Munsee. The Raider will wrestle Curwensville’s Blake Passarelli in the semifinals after the Golden Tide grappler scored a 7-4 decision over Fort LeBoeuf’s Isaac Crowell.

Also, Ridgway’s Kyle Bush beat Greenville’s Aaron Gelvin, 6-0, to make the semifinals against Titusville’s Hunter Thompson.

In a preliminary match, Redbank Valley’s Mason Songer dropped a 5-2 decision to Reynolds’s Adam Wilcox.

At 120 pounds, Brookville’s Gavin Park major decisioned Maplewood’s Kenyon Andrews, 14-2, to reach the semifinals against Saegertown’s Kenny Kiser, who beat Coudersport’s Trevor Olney, 9-2.

Also, Northwestern’s John Wheeler pinned Redbank’s Hunter Martz and Cochranton’s Devan Davis won by tech fall over Ridgway’s Luke Tomaski, 15-0.

At 126, Ridgway’s Bryce Barclay beat Habor Creek’s  Nick Oosterkamp, 8-2. Barclay will wrestle Reynolds’s Gage Bayless, who pinned Brookville’s Kai Sorbin.

Also, Lakeview’s Owen Clayton beat Kane’s Noah Blankenship, 8-4 and Cambridge Springs’s Tye Varndell pinned Port Allegany’s Treyton Stiles.

At 132 pounds, Ridgway’s Lucas McClain pinned Commodore Perry’s Zach Helstern to reach the semifinals against Habor Creek’s Sam Sallot, who beat Brockville’s Dontae Constable, 5-2.

Also, Johnsonburg’s Devon Norlin lost 3-2 to North East’s Garrett Kopp.

Bradford’s Tyler Thompson won a prelim over Hickory’s Brandon Miller, 4-2, before dropping a 5-0 decision to Reynolds’s Hunter Michaels.

At 138 pounds, Ridgway’s Logan McClain tech falled Greenville’s Mason Karpinski, 19-4, to reach the semis against Slippery Rock’s Mike Doerflinger, who  pinned Oswayo Valley’s Isaiah Barney.

Titusville’s Hunter Wagner edged Coudersport’s David Kudrick, 5-4, and North East’s Dylan Muscarella blanked Cranberry’s C.J. Shreffler, 6-0.

At 145, Bradford’s Dillon Keane pinned Hickory’s Cole Ruffo to reach the semifinals against Reynolds’s Chaise Hauck, a 9-2 winner over Cranberry’s Josh Hancock.

Kane’s Alec English also reached the semifinals with an 8-6 win over Saegertown’s Jude Mattocks. English will face Commodore Perry’s John Mott.

Also, Coudersport’s Dustin Kudrick beat Slippery Rock’s Mike Antal, 3-1, before falling in the quarters to Mott, 11-5.

At 152, Brookville’s Caleb Hetrick tech falled Fort LeBoeuf’s Brent Burbules, 16-0, and will face Clarion’s Mike LeFay in the semifinals. LeFay pinned Greenville’s Mike Lineman.

In the other quarterfinals, Kane’s Aiden Hulings lost 8-5 to North East’s Sam Svetz and Coudy’s Julian Smith lost a 2-1 decision to Sharpsville’s Cameron Prebble.

At 160, District 9 has three wrestlers in the semifinals.

Port Allegany’s Jake Kallenborn decisioned Union City’s Gavin Henry, 7-0. The Gator will face Brookville’s Clayton Peace, who scored a 12-7 win over Greenville’s Brady Gentile.

In the top half of the bracket, Coudy’s Gage Arnold pinned Iroquois’s Joe Galvin. He will face Reynolds’s Gavin Wilkerson.

At 170, no D-9 wrestlers made the semifinals.

Coudersport’s Isaac Wright lost 8-4 to Saegertown’s Jarrett Ruhl, Brookville’s Braden MacBeth lost 5-2 to Fort LeBoeuf’s Jared Kula, Brockway’s Garrett McClintick lost 7-0 to Sharon’s Nick McClimans and Smethport’s Akete Kindle dropped a 1-0 decision to Haborcreek’s Zach Cassidy.

At 182, only Brookville’s Noah Cieleski made the semifinals after he pinned Slippery Rock’s Elijah Hilliard. Cieleski will tackle Fort LeBoeuf’s Julian Gorring, who pinned Coudy’s Eli Ayers.

In the top half, Curwensville’s Kaleb Witherite lost 10-2 to Greenville’s Brendan Calvin and Oswayo Valley’s Grant West was pinned by Saegertown’s Cody Mulligan. West did win in the prelims, beating Jamestown’s Khalil Messai, 10-4.

In the 195-pound class, Brookville’s Xavier Molnar reached the semis with a 7-5 win over Saegertown’s Tyler Brooks. Molnar will face Greenville’s Jake McMaster, who pinned Kane’s Ty Stahli.

In the lower half, Fort LeBoeuf’s Lane Reinwald beat Keystone’s Tyler VanTassel in the quarters. In a preliminary match, Clarion’s Ben Smith was pinned by Reynolds’s Jarrod Miller.

At 220, there is a possibility of an all D-9 finals. Clarion’s Tom Wurster beat Corry’s Jack Gill, 5-3 in one quarterfinal and will take on Greenville’s Blake Reynolds.

In the bottom half of the bracket, Brookville’s Tyler Cook pinned Reynolds’s Derek Skeehan. Cook will face Lakeview’s Tyler Zebrovious, who beat Coudy’s Corey Thompson.

At 285, only one D-9 wrestler made the semifinals as Curwensville’s Steven McClure edged Haborcreek’s Joe Newara, 2-1. McClure’s semifinal opponent is Reynolds’s Cole Rickert, who beat Brookville’s Colby Whitehall, 7-3.

Whitehill had advanced with a pin of Jamestown’s Mitchell Nesevich.

In the top half of the bracket, Cranberry’s Timmy McCauley was pinned by Mercer’s Bobby Gregory and Ridgway’s Colton McClain dropped a 4-1 decision to North East’s Jeff Kraemer.

Advertisement Enter ad code here