Connect with us


Wrestling Tourneys Set for Weekend

CANONSBURG, Pa. — Three District 9 teams are among the 52 teams in the powerful field at the prestigious Powerade Tournament hosted by Canon McMillan High School Friday and Saturday.

(Photo by Allie Zacherl)

Brookville, back for the sixth straight year, and new invitees DuBois and Ridgway are in the field. In the top eight seedings, the D9 trio has combined for seven seeded wrestlers:

Caleb Hetrick 4th at 152 (8th last year)
Xavier Molnar 5th at 195 (7th last year)
Tyler Cook 4th at 220 (7th last year)
Trenton Donahue 4th at 106
Ed Scott 5th at 126
Bryce Barclay 8th at 132
Logen McClain 8th at 145

Follow the tournament on-line at

Redbank Valley Christmas Tournament

NEW BETHLEHEM, Pa. — Nine District 9 teams, including host Redbank Valley, Kane, Brockway, Clarion, Punxsutawney, Curwensville, Keystone, Smethport and Oswayo Valley are in action Saturday at the Redbank Valley Christmas Tournament.

It’s a dual match format with each team wrestling five matches. Action gets going at 9 a.m. The schedule is below:

Round 1A: Redbank Valley vs. Conneaut, Brockway vs. Mercer, Kane vs. Marion Center and Blairsville vs. Slippery Rock.

Round 1B: Clarion vs. Youngsville, Curwensville vs. Punxsutawney, Smethport vs. Keystone, Oswayo Valley vs. Brashear.

Round 2A: Redbank Valley vs. Mercer, Brockway vs. Marion Center, Kane vs. Slippery Rock, Blairsville vs. Youngsville.

Round 2B: Clarion vs. Punxsutawney, Curwensville vs. Keystone, Smethport vs. Brashear, Oswayo Valley vs. Conneaut.

Round 3A: Redbank Valley vs. Marion Center, Brockway vs. Slippery Rock, Kane vs. Youngsville, Blairsville vs. Punxsutawney.

Round 3B: Clarion vs. Keystone, Curwensville vs. Brashear, Smethport vs. Conneaut, Oswayo Valley vs. Mercer.

Round 4A: Redbank Valley vs. Slippery Rock, Brockway vs. Youngsville, Kane vs. Punxsutawney, Blairsville vs. Keystone.

Round 4B: Clarion vs. Brashear, Curwensville vs. Conneaut, Smethport vs. Mercer, Oswayo Valley vs. Marion Center.

Round 5A: Redbank Valley vs. Youngsville, Brockway vs. Punxsutawney, Kane vs. Keystone, Blairsville vs. Brashear.

Round 5B: Clarion vs. Conneaut, Curwensville vs. Mercer, Smethport vs. Marion Center, Oswayo Valley vs. Slippery Rock.