Connect with us

Breaking News

Ridgway, Bradford D9 golf champs

Class AA golf champs

CLASS AA CHAMPS — Ridgway’s foursome, from left, of Nick Simon, Cory Oknefski, Ben Ames and Mitchell Stark won the District 9 Class AA boys’ team title Monday at Pinecrest Country Club in Brookville.

BROOKVILLE — Ridgway and Bradford won team titles while 21 golfers advanced to the second day of individual qualifying at Monday’s District 9 Boys’ Golf Tournament held at Pinecrest Country Club.

Playing mostly in rainy conditions, Ridgway ran away with the Class AA title for the third straight year. The Elkers shot a four-man score of 339, easily outdistancing runner-up Venango Catholic’s 365, host Brookville’s 368 and Brockway’s 378.

Bradford won the Class AAA crown unopposed. The Owls were the only team to shoot a low enough team score average during the season to qualify. The Owls shot a 320, led by two-time defending champion Mitch Faulkner’s 77.

Individually, 16 Class AA players advance to Saturday’s second round at Pinecrest looking for one of eight regional berths or a district crown. Clarion senior Jared Bish, the first-round leader for the second straight year, leads the field with a 6-over-par 76, two strokes better than Brockway’s Braden Martini. Brookville’s Jordan Tosh and Levi Roseman are three strokes back with a 79 while Ridgway’s Nick Simon is fifth with an 80.

Ridgway’s Mitchell Stark, Forest Area’s Griffin Schmader and A-C Valley’s Noah Morgan are tied for sixth with an 81. Along with Bish, a returning state medalist, the Elkers’ Simon and Stark, and Morgan are returning regional qualifiers.

Ridgway’s Ames is tied for 11th with an 83 while Brookville also qualified a third player for Saturday with Espy Reinard’s 13th-place 84.

In Class AAA, five golfers advanced with three Owls leading the way. Behind Faulkner’s 77 are Brice Whelan (78) and Evan Piganelli (80). DuBois’ Steve Jacobson and Clearfield’s Brandon Orsich tied for fourth with an 84. The top two finishers advance to regionals.

Saturday’s round begins at 10 a.m. with seven threesomes teeing off from No. 1.

The PIAA Western Regional is Oct. 19 at Tom’s Run Golf Club in Blairsville.

Team Standings

Class AA

Bradford 320 (Faulkner 77, Whelan 78, Piganelli 80, Matt Moonan 85).

Class AA

Ridgway 339 (Simon 80, Stark 81, Ames 83, Cory Oknefski 96)

Venango Catholic 365 (Kingston 86, Puleo 107, Hunter Lancaster 86, Michael Prince 86)

Brookville 368 (Tosh 79, Roseman 79, Reinard 84, Austin Cook 126)

Brockway 378 (Martini 78, Carr 96, Seth Shugarts 98, Kristofer Potts 106).



  1. Jared Bish, Clarion 76
  2. Braden Martini Brockway 78
  3. Jordan Tosh, Brookville 79
  4. Levi Roseman, Brookville 79
  5. Nick Simon, Ridgway 80
  6. Mitchell Stark, Ridgway 81
  7. Griffin Schmader, Forest 81
  8. Noah Morgan, ACV 81
  9. Britton Simmons, Moniteau 82
  10. Jamie Rook, Kane 82
  11. Ben Ames, Ridgway 83
  12. Jonah Meyer, ECC 83
  13. Espy Reinard, Brookville 84
  14. Chance Ramsey, Coudersport 86
  15. Weston Kimmey, Moniteau 86
  16. Brady Kingston, Venango Cath. 86

– Missed Cut –

Ethan Nevel, AC Valley          89

Alex Acree, C-L          89

Gabe Kraus, ECC       91

Alex Micknis, DCC    94

Kolby Montgomery, Union    94

Austin Cogley, DCC   95

Corey Carr, Brockway            96

Nathan Marterella, Cranberry  96

Hunter Gifford, Karns City     96

Jeff Wehler, St. Marys            96

Brian Shupe, Cameron Co.     97

Christo Park, Kane      97

Ian Henry, Keystone   97

Andrew Gunn, Cranberry       98

Alex Bernard, Oswayo Valley            99

Marcus Murphy, Port A.        102

John Allen, Clarion     103

Logan Pistorious, Karns City  105

Dylan Bucholtz, Oswayo Valley         105

Nick Wendel, St. Marys          106

Nick Puleo, Venango Cath.     107

Brennan Guisto, Cameron Co.            107

Kent Wilkinson, Coudersport 111

Zac McClure, Curwensville    112

Ian Callen, C-L            113

Shawn Miller, Curwensville   115

Nate Hartman, Keystone         115

Jacob Anderson, Port A.         124

Zander Hargenrader, Forest    127


Mitch Faulkner, Bradford 77

Brice Whelan, Bradford 78

Evan Piganelli, Bradford 80

Steve Jacobson, DuBois 84

Brandon Orsich, Clearfield 84

— Missed Cut –

Matt Moonan, Bradford          85

Payton Graham, Punxsy         96

Caleb Strouse, Clearfield         101

Cody Smith, Punxsy   104

Carter Husted, DuBois            104