Connect with us

Breaking News

District 9 Class A Playoff Standings Through Week 8

Here is a quick, unofficial look, at the 2014 District 9 Class A Playoff standings through seven weeks.

District 9 predetermines the seedings. In 2014, the AML champion (AML Title Game winner) will be the No. 1 seed, the KSAC Small School Division champion (determined by KSAC Small record, head-to-head then PIAA Ranking system in that order) will be the No. 2 seed, the AML No. 2 team (determined by AML record, head-to-head competition then PIAA Ranking System in that order) will be the No. 3 seed, the KSAC Small School No. 2 team (see criteria above for KSAC No. 1 seed) will be the No. 4 seed, the AML No. 3 seed (see criteria for AML No. 2 seed above) will be the No. 5 seed, the AML No. 4 seed (see criteria above for AML No. 2 and No. 3 seeds) will be the No. 6 seed and the No. 7 and No. 8 seeds will be wild cards that are detrmined by and seeded by overall winning percentage, head-to-head competition and PIAA Power Points in that order.  

Top 8 teams would qualify for the playoffs (although a team can decline to go to the playoffs)

All seeds are unofficial. The District 9 committee has final determination of seedings

1. Ridgway* (7-1)

2. Redbank Valley* (7-0)

3. Elk County Catholic* (7-1)

4. Clarion* (7-1)

5. Brockway (5-3)

6. Curwensville* (6-2)

7. Kane* (5-3)

8. Cameron County (4-4)

9. Union (3-5)

10. Smethport (3-5)

11. Keystone (2-6)

12. Otto-Eldred (2-6)

13. Port Allegany (2-6)

14. Sheffield (1-7)

15. Coudersport (1-7)

16. Clarion-Limestone (1-7)

17. A-C Valley (0-8)

*Have clinched a postseason berth (Don’t necessarily have to accept the berth)